Tank Man, the Bigger Picture

I know I’ve missed the anniversary of the Tiananmen Square rebellion by two days now, but I only just now stumbled upon this picture.

Hopefully everyone is familiar with the iconic “Tank Man” photograph, but this is the first time I’ve seen this version, that shows a wider angle and emphasizes the scale of the crackdown.

Tank Man, the Bigger Picture

I know many people are optimistic that he got away, that if he truly had been arrested and/or executed, the government would have announced it proudly and loudly to make an example of him.

I admit I cannot give that benefit of the doubt to the Chinese government, not then and not now. When you do things right, people won’t be sure you’ve done anything at all.

This entry was posted in china, politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Tank Man, the Bigger Picture

Leave a comment